Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 17th, 2006

If you’re like me and have friends and relatives you want to send pics to directly, but the total pics size is too big to send via email (like 125 mbs!) then you can benefit from yousendit.com.

Basically, www.yousendit.com is a website that lets you upload a file to its server, then gives your sender(s) a link to that file to download on their side. I know there are several sites like this, like rapidshare.com, etc, but I don’t like those as much, because they make you wait several seconds before a download for their free service. You have to pay to avoid those.

Yousendit.com lets you send up to 1gb for free with no wait time, and if you sign up for their premium services, the link stays valid for over the standard free service’s typical 7 days limit for your friends to download. I also think they provide better upload/download speeds if you sign up for their pay service. But the free version does well for me.

A good way to send a bunch of files together in one file is to zip it first. Remember that tool I talked about before, www.7-zip.org. Download their free zip tool that lets you zip up multiple files into one file to send. I even taught my dad how to zip and then use yousendit.com to send me his pictures!

Good luck!

Read Full Post »